

University of Pretoria Yearbook 2023

Human anatomy Part 1 247 (ANA 247)

Qualification Undergraduate

Faculty of Health Sciences

Module credits 12.00

NQF Level 06

Programmes BSc (Medical Sciences)

Service modules Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences

Prerequisites ANA 121, ANA 122 and CMY 127; Only for BSc (Medical Sciences) students.

Contact time 2 lectures per week, 2 practicals per week

Language of tuition Module is presented in English

Department Anatomy

Period of presentation Semester 2

Module content

Regional approach to human anatomy. Cadaver dissection of the head, neck as well as neuro-anatomy. Anatomical techniques.

NOTE: This module is not open to all students and may only be taken by BSc (Medical Sciences) students.

Regulations and rules

The regulations and rules for the degrees published here are subject to change and may be amended after the publication of this information.

The General Academic Regulations (G Regulations) and General Student Rules apply to all faculties and registered students of the University, as well as all prospective students who have accepted an offer of a place at the University of Pretoria. On registering for a programme, the student bears the responsibility of ensuring that they familiarise themselves with the General Academic Regulations applicable to their registration, as well as the relevant faculty-specific and programme-specific regulations and information as stipulated in the relevant yearbook. Ignorance concerning these regulations will not be accepted as an excuse for any transgression, or basis for an exception to any of the aforementioned regulations.

University of Pretoria Programme Qualification Mix (PQM) verification project

The higher education sector has undergone an extensive alignment to the Higher Education Qualification Sub-



Framework (HEQF) across all institutions in South Africa. In order to comply with the HEQSF, all institutions are legally required to participate in a national initiative led by regulatory bodies such as the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the Council on Higher Education (CHE), and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). The University of Pretoria is presently engaged in an ongoing effort to align its qualifications and programmes with the HEQSF criteria. Current and prospective students should take note that changes to UP qualification and programme names, may occur as a result of the HEQSF initiative. Students are advised to contact their faculties if they have any questions.